Archive for March 24, 2010

This Is Kinda Cute

Recently this kid has been everywhere and apparently he’s a big deal. His name’s Justin Bieber. I’d heard a lot about him and just passed him off as this little pop star who can’t really sing and blah blah blah. But just now I was kinda like, “Let’s actually listen to one of his songs.” And I did and was pretty surprised because his songs are pretty catchy. Not really pop songish. More R and B(?) Quite a cool kid and not a bad dancer. And he’s around my age. Just turned 16 or something. So yeah. Have a listen. The songs are pretty good.

This Is So Sad

“Carrie Underwood performed ‘Temporary Home’ in memory of one of the truck drivers carrying stage equipment for her Play On tour who died in a crash on Saturday.”

Watch from about 2:14

Studying

Something else that I’ve started studying is shorthand. Which is a” system of rapid handwriting employing symbols to represent words, phrases, and letters.” Apparently you’ve gotta be able to do that if you want to be a journalism, so can’t really get around it I suppose. I’ll post it here as a PDF file for anyone who’s interested.

Teeline Complete

Something

(Tx dad)

If you can keep your head when all about you
Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,
If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you
But make allowance for their doubting too,
If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
Or being lied about, don’t deal in lies,
Or being hated, don’t give way to hating,
And yet don’t look too good, nor talk too wise:

If you can dream–and not make dreams your master,
If you can think–and not make thoughts your aim;
If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
And treat those two impostors just the same;
If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken
Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
And stoop and build ‘em up with worn-out tools:

If you can make one heap of all your winnings
And risk it all on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
And lose, and start again at your beginnings
And never breath a word about your loss;
If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
To serve your turn long after they are gone,
And so hold on when there is nothing in you
Except the Will which says to them: “Hold on!”

If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
Or walk with kings–nor lose the common touch,
If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you;
If all men count with you, but none too much,
If you can fill the unforgiving minute
With sixty seconds’ worth of distance run,
Yours is the Earth and everything that’s in it,
And–which is more–you’ll be a Man, my son!

–Rudyard Kipling

Famous Last Words

Of a Civil War general. I’m not even joking. It came up in my language arts book.

“They couldn’t hit an elephant at this dis–“

Before I Start School

I’m going to go start school now. I actually have a reason to  because since my mom is a sneaky little (censored word) who can read minds, she’s decided to uphold my journalism textbook until I finish 10th grade math. Which consists of 4 100 page each books. So basically I’ll never get that textbook and I will be the first self taught journalist who gets as famous as Dave Barry. Or I won’t get any job and we’ll all know who to blame. But that’s not what I’m here to write about. I was actually just going to say that I have a few funny pictures you might want to see before you start your day. Or after depending on when you get online

Just some silly stuff I write on the side that doesn’t exactly qualify as “newsey” but doesn’t really fit on my blog. Keep in mind that everything is kind of a joke…

Columning

It’s So Bad It’s Actually Funny

Life is super funny don’t you think? I mean, where else would everything that needs to happen NOT happen and everything that you sincerely hope WON’T happen does? That’s pretty funny if you ask me.

I think that’s how you should look at it. Like when it rains exactly on the day you decide to go to Universal Studios Japan, think about how funny it is that it just HAD to rain. It just couldn’t hold it in for a few more hours. So you end up sloshing through a few inches of water and getting your shoes and socks soaked through and you come home in serious danger of dying of pneumonia. If that happened in a movie it would be considered a comedy. So why not look at it like that?

Or take the slightly more tragic and tear inducing situation. Like….say, not being able to go to your friends birthday party.

You’ve gotta admit that not being able to go to the one party that you’ve been lobbying for since kingdom come is so ridiculously cruel that it actually begins to look funny. I mean, what are the odds? You did EVERYTHING right and still it went wrong. And then you went a threw a fit and actually started crying and basically caused a whole lot of drama all around the house. I’m betting you looked pretty stupid. Which is always fun.

Seriously people, life’s pretty funny and its also extremely short. So we should all start acting like it is. Is what I think